Trophy Dad

Trophy Dad.

It’s the Wednesday after Father’s day. The wrapping paper has been discarded, your news feed has finally been cleared of the throwback pictures and your father is now treated like the rest of the family.

For a man deemed Father of the Year however, I figured I could celebrate my dad beyond the one designated day. 

No I’m not reciting the script of a Father’s day mug, when I reference my dad as the Father of the Year. I am reciting the title given to my father by the American Diabetes Association, along with three other incredible men in the Texas community.

Initially I didn’t think much of this award, like Father’s days I figured we would take a quick moment to honor my father, he would give us a grin of gratitude and things would soon return back to normal.

Tears flowed easily from his eyes, as words struggled to leave his mouth, and the gold-gilded trophy was placed within his hands. This award was not a shirt to add to his collection, nor was it an indiscernible painting to be hung on the fridge. This was a poignant moment where any doubts my father may have had about his parenting were put to rest.

His mother beyond proud. His wife enamored by his strength and love. His children grateful for his sacrifice.

He is a man of such humility, courage, and faith.

So how does one dress to honor such a man? I think my whole family asked this question in unison. Cocktail attire usually means a little less formal, but I think we all figured we could kick it up a notch for Mr. Cumberbatch. Of course the ladies of the house went with the classic black and white combo. While the men went with a black and blue duo. And my grandmother brought the real color with her gorgeous coral.

I went with my mother’s formal black floor-length tool skirt and paired it with a more casual white crop top.

I kept the formal feel going with my mother’s black and gold heels.

For jewelry I went with a black and gold layered yarn necklace, my usual bracelet arrangement, a simple gold watch and pair of large studs.

I finished the look with a high box-braid bun. And then brought a little color with a purple smokey eye look and a deep purple lip.

My sister, Virginia, rocked a simple and chic black and white jumpsuit adorn with a white bow in the back. She paired it with a sweet pair of consignment-shop-priced Jeffrey Campbell white pumps. She then finished off her look with big white studs, a twist-out, and pop of pink on the lips.

My brother, Graham, debut a slick look with a grey fitted suit. He paired the suit with a dark blue shirt and a skinny black tie. And he concluded his look with a pair of black dress shoes and a light grey handkerchief.

My mom went with a simple calf-length black dress that had an extra flare in the back with a cut out design. She then added a pair of ankle cuff Rachel Zoe black heels. And her look was finished with big blown out hair and simple pearl earrings.

My grandmother stood out with her beautiful ornate coral African-inspired dress. And as the queen of accessories, she added a printed silk shawl, a big wooden necklace, a pair of dangle stone earrings and pair of animal print heels.

And daddy kept it classy with a classic pinstripe black suit. Paired with a white button down and a royal blue tie. With a pair of nice black dress shoes as the final piece.

So happy Father’s Day to a father who deserves acknowledgement and celebration way past one particular Sunday.

One thought on “Trophy Dad

  1. OH MY CHILD HOW ABSOLUTLE FANTATIC. YOU MUST BIND THIS TOGETHER AND GIVE/SELL A COPY TO FAMILY MEMBERS AND TALK WITH A BOOK/PUBLISHING COMPANY. THIS IS BEAUTIFUL PIECE. BELIEVE ME, I AM NOT BEING PREDUJICE, I AM BEING HONEST.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

